Home » Sports » Iola-Scandy Sports » T-Birds send four to state

T-Birds send four to state


Fischer qualifies for fourth time

By Greg Seubert

Two familiar names and a pair of new faces will represent Iola-Scandinavia High School at the upcoming WIAA State Cross Country Meet.

Leighten Fischer and Erika Kisting, who already have five state appearances between them, will be at The Ridges Golf Course in Wisconsin Rapids Saturday, Oct. 29, for this year’s meet.

First-time state qualifiers Jada Beacom and Joe Makovec will also compete for the Thunderbirds in Division 3. All four runners qualified as individuals Oct. 22 out of a Division 3 sectional meet at Standing Rocks County Park in Portage County.

Meanwhile, Amherst will send its boys’ team to state after the Falcons placed second at the sectional behind Rosholt, another Central Wisconsin Conference team. Rosholt and Wittenberg-Birnamwood’s girls’ teams finished first and second to advance to state.

Waupaca High School also hosted a Division 2 sectional Oct. 22.

Amherst Sectional
AMHERST – Kisting, Fischer and Beacom placed in the top 10 in the girls’ race. Fischer will make her fourth trip to state after placing 13th last year as a junior, 19th as a sophomore and 29th as a freshman and Kisting is back at state after placing third last year as a sophomore and 20th as a freshman.

Times and places for the T-Birds in the girls’ race were Kisting (second, 19:33); Fischer (fifth, 20:18); Beacom (ninth, 20:57); Natalie Rustad (38th, 23:24); Makenna Brown (43rd, 23:35); Brynn Rasmussen (60th, 24:36); and Haley Ullom (84th, 26:14).

Makovec, in his first season of cross country, placed second in the boys’ race in 17:07. Other times and places for the T-Birds were Erik Kriewaldt (26th, 18:26); Jordan Fuhs (83rd, 21:33); and Trenton Niemi (84th, 21:34).

The Amherst boys had only one top-10 finisher, but had five runners in the top 25. Cole McKenzie led the way by placing ninth in 17:38, followed by Adam Wise (13th, 17:54); Sawyer Eiden (16th, 18:00); David Rieck (19th, 18:08); Seth Barnes (23rd, 18:18); Trent Miller (37th, 18:44); and Robert Johannes (72nd, 20:37).

Marion’s Delaney Greene-Gretzinger, who won the state Division 3 race two years ago as a sophomore, won the girls’ race in 19:09.

Weyauwega-Fremont and Manawa also competed at the sectional.

W-F’s runners in the girls’ race were Allison Halat (12th, 21:23); Saylor Alberts (37th, 23:23): Natalie Schneider (42nd, 23:31); Katie Monty (52nd, 24:05); Katie Bleck (59th, 24:33); Destiny Kempf (88th, 26:49); and Mikyla Reeck (91st, 27:30).

Places and times for the Indians in the boys’ race were Patrick Long (31st, 18:34); Duane Brazil (35th, 18:41); Jacob Carroll (76th, 21:06); Zarek Hoffman (93rd, 23:15); and Chris Strehlow (94th, 23:15).

The girls placed 12th overall, while the boys were seventh.

Manawa’s runners in the girls’ race were Jody Wentworth (44th, 23:36); Sierra Lubahn (83rd, 26:03); Ayla Stiebs (90th, 27:22); and Anya Wilson (98th, 32:07).

Places and times for the Wolves in the boys’ race were Johnathon Lubahn (88th, 22:28); Devin Loughrin (95th, 23:22); and Jacob Scheller (100th, 25:13).

Waupaca Sectional
WAUPACA – Clintonville’s Kara Pyatskowit crossed the finish line in 18:59 to win the girls’ race, more than a minute ahead of second-place finisher Kim Carviou of Marinette.

Pyatskowit’s first-place finish helped Clintonville’s girls’ team qualify for state. The Truckers placed second with 79 points, two behind Lakeland.

Clintonville’s girls’ team also includes Madison Hohn, Elly Arndt, Kayla Klemp, Autumn Hohn, Bethany Klemp and Jules Buttles.

Waupaca’s boys’ and girls’ teams placed 13th and 14th, respectively.

Hunter Smith led the boys by placing 13th in 17:46. Other places and times were Danny Esch (62nd, 19:25); Abram Jackson (78th, 20:23); Colby Nimmer (86th, 20:41); Owen Vassar (94th, 21:31); Dayton Bell (95th, 21:31); and Ryan Phillipsen (98th, 21:35).

Places and times for the Waupaca girls were Victoria Nowak (55th, 24:00); Karina Lisogor (59th, 24:11); Mya Snyder (71st, 24:31); Kristin Petkovsek (82nd, 25:13); Sarah Shambeau (99th, 30:48); and Isabella Elandt (100th, 312:05).

New London had an individual qualifier on the boys’ side in Robbie Watling, who finished eighth in 17:31.

Scroll to Top