Home » News » Around Waupaca County » Election results

Election results

Contested local and state races

Three seats on the Waupaca County Board were among the contested races on the April 3 ballot.

In District 21, Pete Bosquez defeated Vance Knuth by 204-184 votes.

In District 22, Supervisor Bob Flease was re-elected with 212 votes. His challenger Kenneth Jaeger received 194 votes.

In District 26, challenger Bernie Ritchie defeated incumbent Wayne Wilfuer by 191-143.

Diana Jones won the election for the Iola-Scandinavia School Board against incumbent Kristen Hoyord by a vote of 565-412.

In the New London School Board race, four candidates were running for three seats. The winners were Mark Grossman, Terry Wegner and Connie Neely.

In Waupaca County, Grossman received 1,186 votes, Wegner 1,120 and Neely 1,096. Bill Schmidt received 1,017 votes. Outagamie County results were Grossman 361 votes, Wegner 321, Neely 281 and Schmidt 279.

Gary Henke was elected mayor of New London with 555 votes, defeating Debbie Banda who received 315 votes.

The winners of the three Clintonville School Board seats district-wide were Ben Huber with 748 votes, Larry Czarnecki with 667 and Vollrath with 636 votes. Coming in fourth was Daryl Schroeder with 626 votes. Patrick Danforth finished fifth with 580 votes.

In Fremont’s village trustee race, incumbents Jim Falke and Steven Van Lyssel and write-in candidate Scott Hart won the three seats on the board.

Falke received 116 votes, Van Lyssel 111 and Hart 75 votes.

Village Clerk Michelle McClone said Hart became an official write-in candidate on March 26.

First-time candidates Tyler Danke and Jason Jaquith received 44 and 41 votes respectively.

The three citizens who won seats on the Hortonville Village Board were Jeanne Bellile with 284 votes, Julie Arendt Vanden Heuvel with 249 votes and Pat Lund-Moe with 236. Jack Kuhnke lost his seat after receiving 198 votes.

The referendum to eliminate the office of state treasurer was defeated in Waupaca County by a vote of 4,049 to 2,994.

Outagamie County citizens also voted in line with the state against the referendum to eliminate the state treasurer’s office. Sixty-one percent voted against, 14,961 to 9,205.

More than 60 percent of Wisconsin citizens voted against the referendum.

Milwaukee County Judge Rebecca Dallet garnered 55 percent of the statewide vote to win the election for justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court. She defeated Sauk County Judge Michael Screnock.

In Waupaca County, Screnock garnered 3,842 to Dallet’s 3,495.

In Outagamie County, the results of the Supreme Court race mirrored those of the state. Dallet won 55 percent of the countywide vote, 14,047 votes, and Michael Screnock claimed 44 percent with 11,164 votes.

Outagamie County Board District 31 Supervisor Dennis Clegg defeated challenger Nettie McGee 426 to 219 in the race for his seat.


Scroll to Top