Home » zHideFeatured » Runners head to Standing Rocks

Runners head to Standing Rocks


T-Birds’ Beacom wins girls’ race

By Greg Seubert

One point.

That’s what kept the Weyauwega-Fremont girls from winning a champion in the first meet of the season.

Weyauwega-Fremont, Iola-Scandinavia and Manawa competed in the Standing Rocks Invitational Aug. 23 at Standing Rocks County Park in Portage County.

Meanwhile, Waupaca runners headed to the Westfield Invitational.

Standing Rocks Invitational
Amherst won the girls’ championship with 45 points, followed by Weyauwega-Fremont (46), Brillion (95), Iola-Scandinavia (102), Clintonville (105) and Three Lakes (126). Manawa, Marion, St. Mary Catholic had incomplete teams.

Iola-Scandinavia’s Jada Beacom won the girls’ race in 20:39. Other varsity places and times for the Thunderbirds were Makenna Brown (11th, 24:13); Briar Williams (26th, 26:49); Jessica Schaefer (31st, 27:59); Lydia Johnsrud (39th, 30:07); and Tara Thompson (41st, 30;54).

Weyauwega-Fremont placed four girls’ varsity runners in the top 10, including Abby Bartel (second, 21:04); Allison Halat (seventh, 23:32); Katie Bleck (ninth, 23:46); and Saylor Alberts (10th, 23:58). Also placing for the Indians were Natalie Schneider (18th, 24:59); and Rylee Bartel (37th, 29:41).

Kate Phelan had Manawa’s top finish, as she placed 29th in 27:41. Also placing for the Wolves were Aspen Linjer (44th, 31:15); Andrea Weber (45th, 32:19); and Sam Scheurmann (50th, 34:01).

Brillion won the boys’ title with 27 points, followed by Clintonville (43), Weyauwega-Fremont (75), Iola-Scandinavia (115), Amherst (120) and Manawa (154). Marion, St. Mary Catholic and Three Lakes had incomplete teams.

Iola-Scandinavia’s runners included Erick Kriewaldt (16th, 20:30); Dylan Donovan (18th, 21:10); Brock Opperman (29th, 23:33); Erich Schmoldt (35th, 24:36); Carson Munoz (40th, 25:19); Nick Louison (46th, 28:49); and Landon Torborg (48th, 29:12).
Weyauwega-Fremont’s runners included Patrick Long (10th, 18:46); Jacob Carroll (13th, 20:05); Josh Halat (20th, 21:12); Carson Kester (21st, 21:19); Exander Fletcher (24th, 21:38); Kevin Ames (30th, 23:49); Logan Krause (33rd, 24:12); and Chris Strehlow (34th, 24:17).

Manawa’s runners included Tyler Carson (23rd, 21:37); Jacob Scheller (36th, 24:49); Zach Schertz (37th, 24:52); Ethan Tellock (47th, 29:01); and Gavin Linjer (49th, 29:40).

Westfield Invitational
Abram Jackson’s third-place finish in 18:12 helped the Waupaca boys place fifth out of nine teams.

Tomah won the boys’ title with 53 points, followed by Wautoma (62), Portage (77), Wisconsin Dells (99), Waupaca (103), Lodi (137), Reedsburg (198), Rio/Fall River (248) and Westfield/Montello (269).

Other finishers for Waupaca include Colby Nimmer (11th, 19:17); Tyler Rogney (24th, 20:30); Sawyer Ziebell (26th, 20:33); Arthur Lisogor (40th, 21:30); Tyler Schroeder (44th, 22:11); and Brock Keil (56th, 24:35).

Waupaca’s Forrest Ziebell won the boys’ junior varsity race in 18:35.

Team scores for the girls were Wisconsin Dells (40), Reedsburg (63), Lodi (91), Portage (107), Wautoma (108), Tomah (158), Westfield/Montello (167), Rio/Fall River (182), Markesan (259) and Waupaca (271).

Waupaca’s placers include Karina Lisogor (32nd, 25:52); Brooke Hansen (51st, 29:14); Sophia Dolski (59th, 34:09); Sarah Shambeau (63rd, 36:06); and Ani Torres (66th, 45:16).

”I’m especially proud of the boys’ team performance this year and am excited to see how the season progresses,” coach Jessica Bank said.

Iola-Scandinavia, Weyauwega-Fremont, Manawa and Waupaca competed at the Iola-Scandinavia Invitational Aug. 28 at the Iola Winter Sports Club complex.


Scroll to Top