Home » Sports » Iola-Scandy’s Huettner named top player

Iola-Scandy’s Huettner named top player

SP-IS-FB-ph2 SP-REC-allcon-cwc-football2-181108 SP-REC-allcon-cwc-football3-181108
Manawa's Dakota Lane holds Iola-Scandinavia quarterback Connor Kurki to a short gain this season. Both players received all-conference honors from the Central Wisconsin Conference-Large. Lane made the first team as a defensive lineman, while Kurke made the second team as a defensive back and received honorable mention as a quarterback. Holly Neumann Photo

All-conference football teams announced

By Greg Seubert

One name keeps turning up on this year’s list of Central Wisconsin Conference-Large all-conference football players.

Not only did Iola-Scandinavia senior Bryce Huettner make the first team as a running back and linebacker, he was also named the conference’s offensive and defensive player of the year.

He is one of 11 Thunderbirds to make the first, second or honorable mention teams.

Also making the first team for Iola-Scandinavia are seniors Carter Kurki (linebacker and punter) Kellan Wandtke (offensive and defensive lineman), Alex Sharp (utility player and defensive back), Carter Snyder (defensive lineman) and Keegan Singh (offensive lineman); and junior Will Cady (wide receiver).

The second team includes Cady (defensive back); juniors Taylor Ambrosius (offensive lineman) and Connor Kurki (defensive back); and sophomore Brye Hardel (defensive lineman).

I-S players on the honorable mention team are Connor Kurki (quarterback), Carter Kurki (running back) and junior Ed Bonikowske (linebacker).

Manawa’s players on the first team are seniors Dakota Lane (defensive lineman and Nate Reynolds (defensive back); and sophomore Andrew Elmhorst (offensive lineman).

Second-teamers for the Wolves are seniors Seth Forbes (running back), Ethan Wiesner (defensive lineman) and Reynolds (wide receiver); junior Jackson Jaeger (utility player); and sophomore Mason Wiesner (quarterback).

Manawa players on the honorable mention team are senior Wyatt Nichols (offensive lineman and linebacker); junior Danny Beyer (linebacker); and sophomore Colin Moser (offensive lineman).

Weyauwega-Fremont senior Tyler Wetzel made the second team as a tight end and linebacker.

CWC-Large 2018 All-Conference Football Teams

First Team Offense
Quarterback: Parker Bohm, senior, Bonduel.

Running back: Bryce Huettner*, senior, Iola-Scandinavia; Josh Rieck, senior, Amherst.

Wide receiver: Will Cady, junior, Iola-Scandinavia; Isaac Garside, senior, Bonduel.

Tight end: Colin Hanus, senior, Bonduel.

Utility player: Alex Sharp, senior, Iola-Scandinavia.

Lineman: Nick Dombrowski*, junior, Amherst; Kellan Wandtke, senior, Iola-Scandinavia; Keegan Singh, senior, Iola-Scandinavia; Jacob Giese, senior, Bonduel; Andrew Elmhorst, sophomore, Manawa.

First Team Defense
Lineman: Dakota Lane*, senior, Manawa; Kellan Wandtke, senior, Iola-Scandinavia; Tristan Tomashek, junior, Bonduel; Carter Snyder, senior, Iola-Scandinavia.

Linebacker: Aiden Elwood, junior, Amherst; Bryce Huettner, senior, Iola-Scandinavia; Carter Kurki, senior, Iola-Scandinavia; Jacob Giese, senior, Bonduel.

Back: Alex Sharp, senior, Iola-Scandinavia; Parker Bohm, senior, Bonduel; Nate Reynolds, senior, Manawa.

Punter: Carter Kurki*, senior, Iola-Scandinavia.

Second Team Offense
Quarterback: Mason Wiesner, sophomore, Manawa.

Running back: Isaac Boldt, junior, Bonduel; Seth Forbes, senior, Manawa.

Wide receiver: Jack Fielding, senior, Shiocton; Nate Reynolds, senior, Manawa.

Tight end: Tyler Wetzel, Weyauwega-Fremont.

Utility player: Jackson Jaeger, junior, Manawa.

Lineman: Nolan Struble, senior, Amherst; Nathan Struble, senior, Amherst; Taylor Ambrosius, junior, Iola-Scandinavia; Brooks Dehn, senior, Bonduel; Brad Raflik, senior, Pacelli.

Second Team Defense
Lineman: Trevor Van Straten, senior, Shiocton; Brye Hardel, sophomore, Iola-Scandinavia; Shane Tryba, junior, Pacelli; Ethan Wiesner, senior, Manawa.

Linebacker: Nick Dombrowski, junior, Amherst; Josh Rieck, senior, Amherst; Isaac Garside, senior, Bonduel; Tyler Wetzel, senior, Weyauwega-Fremont.

Back: Kadin Konradt, senior, Amherst; Connor Kurki, junior, Iola-Scandinavia; Will Cady, junior, Iola-Scandinavia.

Honorable Mention Offense
Quarterback: Sam Bloch, senior, Shiocton; Connor Kurki, junior, Iola-Scandinavia.

Running back: Carter Kurki, senior, Iola-Scandinavia; Riddik Bohm, senior, Bonduel; Ben Lundgren, senior, Pacelli; James Vervoort, senior, Shiocton; Reis Stingle, senior, Shiocton.

Fullback: Jack Stewart, senior, Wittenberg-Birnamwood.

Utility player: Zach Zimmerman, senior, Pacelli.

Lineman: Trevor Van Straten, senior, Shiocton; Sheldon Anday, sophomore, Shiocton; Colin Moser, sophomore, Manawa; Wyatt Nichols, senior, Manawa.

Honorable Mention Defense
Lineman: Jaden Dorn, sophomore, Shiocton; Jonah Peplinski, senior, Pacelli.

Linebacker: Zack Toelle, senior, Amherst; Ed Bonikowske, junior, Iola-Scandinavia; Isaac Banker, sophomore, Bonduel; Brad Raflik, senior, Pacelli; Danny Beyer, junior, Manawa; Wyatt Nichols, senior, Manawa.

Back: James Vervoort, senior, Shiocton; Nate Helms, senior, Pacelli; Reis Stingle, senior, Shiocton.

Offensive Player of the Year: Bryce Huettner, senior, Iola-Scandinavia.

Defensive Player of the Year: Bryce Huettner, senior, Iola-Scandinavia.

Coach of the Year: Scott Erickson, Iola-Scandinavia.

* – Denotes unanimous selection.

Scroll to Top