Home » Uncategorized » Thunder rolls over Truckers

Thunder rolls over Truckers

The Seymour Thunder defeated the Clintonville Truckers 20-3 in non-conference football action on Friday, Sept. 23.

Clintonville opened the game on their own 31 yard line and moved the ball to the Seymour one yard line before a fumble and penalty forced the Truckers to go for a field goal. Jake Reiter connected on a 30 yard boot to put the Truckers up 3-0.

The Thunder took the ensuing kickoff and marched 80 yards in 13 plays to score on Mark Dessart’s 8-yard run. The extra point kick by Nick Effa was good; Seymour 7, Clintonville 3.

A fumbled kickoff which lost yardage, a holding penalty, a sack, and a run for lost yardage pinned Clintonville deep in their own territory forcing them to punt. Seymour took the punt, following a penalty, on the Trucker 39 yard line and in four plays found pay dirt on a Bret Rottier 5-yard run. The kick by Effa was good; Seymour 14, Clintonville 3.

Seymour received the second half kickoff and began marching down the field once again. On third and long from the Clintonville 18 yard line, the Truckers’ Kolin Kubitz intercepted a Thunder pass in the end zone to stop their drive. Clintonville got the ball on the 20 yard line. The Truckers began to move the ball down the field on runs by Jake Reiter and Nathan Poppe along with two pass receptions by James Simpson. However, on third and long an over thrown pass by Clintonville was intercepted by the Thunder.

The Trucker defense held Seymour on their next possession forcing the Thunder to punt. Clintonville took over on their own 39 yard line and moved down the field. A fourth and long interception ended Clintonville’s drive at the Seymour 25 yard line.

Clintonville’s last opportunity to score ended when a pass was dropped on fourth and 10. Seymour took over on the Clintonville 38 yard line with 2:51 left in the game. The Thunder added a touchdown on a Ben Rottier 36 yard run. The kick failed.

Clintonville’s next game is Friday, Sept. 30, at Little Chute. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m.

Scroll to Top