Home » News » Waupaca News » Redistricting in Waupaca County

Redistricting in Waupaca County

Waupaca County will have four separate Assembly districts in the 2024 election. Source: Wisconsin State Legislature

From one to four Assembly districts

By Robert Cloud

Following Wisconsin’s recently enacted redistricting law, Waupaca County is now divided among four separate Assembly districts.

As a result, state Rep. Kevin Petersen, R-Waupaca, will no longer represent Assembly District 40.

For Petersen to continue representing AD-40 in the state Assembly, he would need to move to Baraboo.

To represent Waupaca, he will need to run for the AD-57 Assembly seat.

During the 2022 election, all of Waupaca County was in AD-40 except for the village of Embarrass and the town of Matteson, which jut out from the county’s upper northeast corner.

In 2024, the city of Waupaca will be in AD-57, which is currently represented by Rep. Lee Snodgrass, D-Appleton.

Snodgrass no longer resides in the new AD-57, so she will not be running against Petersen in the 2024 election.

Waupaca is not the only area in the county to be moved into a different Assembly district for the next election.

Weyauwega, Fremont, Manawa and Ogdensburg also became part of AD-57.

The city of New London is now in AD-56, which is currently represented by Rep. David Murphy, R-Greenville.

The city of Clintonville was moved from AD-40 to AD-6, which is represented by Rep. Peter Schmidt, R-Bonduel.

Iola, Scandinavia and Marion are now in AD-87, which is currently represented by Rep. James Edming, R-Glen Flora. His residence is no longer within the district’s boundaries.
Rep, Patrick Snyder, R-Schoefield, currently represents AD-85. His home is now in AD-87.

Petersen did not respond immediately to questions regarding his plans for 2024.

State senate districts

In 2022, all of Waupaca County, with the exception of Matteson and Embarrass, was in Wisconsin State Senate District 14.

Sen. Joan Ballweg, R-Markesan, represented SD-14.

Now, Waupaca County has portions of three Senate districts.

The municipalities of Waupaca, Weyauwega, Fremont, Manawa, New London and Ogdensburg are in Senate District 19.

Sen. Rachael Cabral-Guevara, R-Appleton, lives in and represents SD-19. She recently mailed a card to Waupaca County voters introducing herself.

Iola, Scandinavia, Big Falls and Marion are now in SD-29, which is represented by Sen. Cory Tomczyk, R-Mosinee.

Clintonville, Matteson and Embarrass have been moved into SD-2, which has been represented by Sen. Robert Cowles, R-Green Bay, who has announced he will not seek re-electon after his residence was drawn out of the district.

The deadline for candidates to file for state legislative offices is June 3.

Scroll to Top